Some things I wanted to say regarding the terrorist attacks in Christchurch

Yesterday, I was at work when I received a message from my sister about a terrorist attack in New Zealand. I hadn’t yet heard the news, so I went on twitter, which seems to sadly be the most reliable source of news these days, and was hit with the cold hard truth. Another white man had gone on a rampage, killing innocent human beings and permanently tearing apart the lives of the victims, their families and friends, and a country that has some of the most beautiful, peaceful people in it.

My first reaction was denial. Sure, Aussies and Kiwis love to give each other a good ribbing, but to me, NZ is our neighbour and has always felt like our super chilled out sibling. I have always felt proud of NZ and their achievements and have always thought of Australia and NZ as a pair. So to see something so horrific, happen in a country that I love as much as I love my own country, had me hoping that the news wasn’t true. That the people reporting it were wrong, and that everything was alright.

That little bubble popped when I scrolled through twitter and saw something that initially looked like a video game. The second I realised what it was I scrolled away from it, sick to my stomach that a monster had livestreamed his attack to the world.

The anger and sadness I feel, is like a heavy, black cloak. It is weighing me down, to the point where it hurts to breathe, to think, to function. I have shed a thousand tears for the beautiful souls who were taken away so violently, and for the families who will never again get the opportunity to laugh, love and celebrate them. But my tears don’t do anything to help. They don’t bring these people back, or allow time to rewind to a point where the terrorist is stopped before he rips lives apart. My anger only fuels hatred, which is giving people like him a victory, because that is what he and his accomplices want.

Muslim men, women and children, who were doing nothing to hurt anyone, that had gone to their place of worship which is supposed to be a safe space and a place of peace, had their sanctuary violated and their lives ripped apart at the seams, by someone who is the very definition of evil. The victims are now martyrs. The stories of their bravery, sacrifice and overall goodness, are how they will be remembered – and it gives me a small amount of hope that the terrorists will hear these stories and realise that all they did was turn the victims into heroes, and themselves (the terrorists) into cowards.

The shooter was Australian. And the most shocking thing about this, is that it isn’t shocking at all. Australia is an incredibly racist country. From a glance, people may think that Aussies are laid back, keen for a laugh and joke, and seem like team players. And yeah, this might be true, but only if you assimilate. Only if you are white. Only if you are straight. Only if you aren’t an immigrant, a person of colour, speak a different language, follow a non-Western religion, or are just in any way ‘different’. Australian politicians and media continue to play a massive role in this mindset, by fear-mongering, discriminating and colluding with white supremacists and allowing them to have a platform.

These terrorists have been empowered by the politicians and media. They have been made to feel that their hatred is justified and that they are right, and everyone else is wrong. And while these assholes weren’t thinking of anyone else but themselves when they planned and carried out this attack, they undoubtedly thought that they were doing the world a favour. While people like Donald Trump, Fuckhead Anning and Pauline Hanson are given the microphone, the world is in an incredible amount of danger from white supremacists.

Moving forward, there is no room for complacency. White people cannot continue to stand by and watch as others are mistreated. We need to stop leaving it to people of colour and minorities to call people out when they are saying/doing the wrong thing. We need to do this in a way where we aren’t talking over them, or being “white saviours”. We need to step the fuck up, and stop allowing our friends and family to make jokes and remarks at the expense of others, because by not saying anything, we are allowing white supremacy to thrive.

To the Muslim community, I stand with you. I am heartbroken for you and am here to support you in any way I possibly can. I wish nothing but love and light for you and yours, especially now and in the coming days, when it may feel like your world is smothered in darkness. There is good in the world, and there are people, like myself, who love you and support you. You are not alone.

Steff xx

 

7 thoughts on “Some things I wanted to say regarding the terrorist attacks in Christchurch”

  1. That was really shocking… I don’t know what to say here…
    Most humans are the same, as a doc, on my operation table, we see the same heart lungs liver kidney spleen and intestines. They nearly look the same, whatever be the skin color or religion…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, it’s enough to leave you speechless isn’t it 😞 It will forever baffle me how people can hate based on the colour of skin, it makes zero sense to me.

      Like

  2. God this attack was so devastating. I can’t even begin to imagine how Muslims around the world are feeling. I am horrified that the terrorist was Australian but there’s a part of me thats not surprised. You’re right: so many people, Aussies included, believe that Aussies are so laid back and sweet and because we live in a multicultural country, we can’t be racist: but holy shit are we racist. Australia has a white supremacy problem and unfortunately many leaders of our own government are supremists. Until the government and the media properly denounce this terrorism and understand that their actions of Islamaphobia have contributed to this attack, we will get nowhere.
    And I know what you mean about how close to home with was. My friends are I were talking about how this felt like it was happening in our own country, thats how close we are to NZ. 💛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so disappointed that a large portion of our government are supremacists. When white men go on rampages the politicians say “thoughts and prayers”, as if they haven’t contributed to this hatred. When they are the ones building walls, throwing refugees on islands with no facilities and generally creating fear and thriving on it. I know every country has it’s issues, yet in many of those countries the citizens/residents are patriotic, and it’s inspiring. In Australia patriotism is attached to white supremacy, and the flag is used as a weapon…it makes me sad. I feel like it has been a long time since I’ve been able to genuinely say I’m proud of Australia, and events like this terrorist attack just reinforce that 😟 Thank you so much for reading my post, it’s never taken me so long to write a post before, this one was fucking hard 💖

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “In Australia patriotism is attached to white supremacy, and the flag is used as a weapon” THIS THIS THIS THIS!!! you’ve put into words what I’ve felt for years! This is why I’m so uncomfortable celebrating Australia Day or when someone acts patriotic towards Australia — because it goes hand in hand with white supremacy
        You wrote a very thoughtful post Steffy 💕

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you!! I’m glad someone agrees with me, it seems like so many people just have their heads in the sand or don’t want to admit that Australia is a racist country, and that white supremacists have ruined the flag. Also, I wish we had NZ’s prime minister lol.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment